L’Occitane en Provence

L’Occitane en Provence’s history

L’OCCITANE EN PROVENCE was founded by Olivier Baussan in 1976. Since then, it has been creating beauty products made with essential oils and natural fragrances developed in accordance with the principles of phytotherapy and aromatherapy.

Inspired by simple values, such as authenticity, respect, sensoriality and continuous improvement, everything L’OCCITANE does, every choice it makes, is guided by the desire to protect, share and pass on.

The L’OCCITANE research and innovation laboratories bring together tradition, nature and expertise to develop natural and effective cosmetic products. From the textures to the fragrances, L’OCCITANE products always promise a delicious moment of well-being and pure delight for the senses.

The brand is presided over by Reinold Geiger and has a presence in 90 countries, with over 3,000 stores throughout the world.

L’Occitane en Provence’s plastic commitments

Ever since L’OCCITANE EN PROVENCE was created, protecting the environment has always been one of its core values. It has never given out plastic bags in its stores and, since the 1990s, has been collecting empty bottles in order to recycle them. Fifteen products are available in eco-refills, which use 65 to 90% less plastic than a standard bottle. Already, 84% of plastic containers used for L’OCCITANE products can be recycled by L’OCCITANE EN PROVENCE stores. Any that cannot be recycled will be discontinued within the next five years.

For its plastic bottles, the brand recently chose to team up with Loop Industries – a key supplier of 100% recycled virgin-quality PET plastic.

By continuing to reduce the thickness of its packaging, L’OCCITANE has already saved 28 tons of plastic!

L’OCCITANE currently offers a recycling service in 100% of its company-owned stores in France, thanks to a partnership established with TerraCycle® a few years ago.

The Group’s employees are also very much involved in eco-friendly initiatives. They regularly organise beach clean-up days in France and other countries so that they, too, can do their bit in the fight against the pollution of our seas and oceans.

It has never been so important to develop a circular economy, and the brand continues to pursue its efforts in this area. By 2020, there will be 25 eco-refills available. By 2025, the brand will have reduced its use of plastic material by 50%. L’OCCITANE has also set itself a 3 x 100 target for 2025: 100% of plastic bottles will be made from 100% recycled plastic and 100% of company-owned stores will offer a recycling service.

Their motivation to support the Plastic Odyssey Expedition

“We are facing an environmental crisis, and companies need to do more than reduce their impact on the planet. They can also be a huge driving force pushing to find real, concrete solutions to repair the damage done to nature. As the main sponsor of Plastic Odyssey, L’OCCITANE en Provence is supporting a project that aims to transform plastic waste into a resource and thus help to develop a new economy. With Plastic Odyssey, we’re proud to be partnering in an incredible human adventure for the good of mankind”

Adrien GEIGER, Global Brand Director.

L’Occitane en Provence

L’histoire du groupe et de la marque L’Occitane en Provence

Depuis sa création en 1976 par Olivier Baussan, L’OCCITANE EN PROVENCE crée des soins aux huiles essentielles et des parfums naturels élaborés selon les principes de la phytothérapie et de l’aromathérapie.

Inspirés par des valeurs simples comme l’authenticité, le respect, la sensorialité et l’amélioration continue, chacun de nos gestes, chacun de nos choix sont guidés par la double volonté de préserver et de transmettre.

Les Laboratoires de recherche et d’innovation L’OCCITANE associent tradition, nature et expertise afin d’élaborer des cosmétiques naturelles et efficaces. Des textures aux fragrances, les soins L’OCCITANE s’inscrivent toujours dans un moment de bien-être, un geste sensoriel et gourmand.

La marque présidée par Reinold Geiger est aujourd’hui présente dans 90 pays avec plus de 3000 boutiques dans le monde. 

Leurs engagements vis à vis du plastique 

Depuis sa création, l’écologie a toujours été une valeur de cœur de L’OCCITANE EN PROVENCE. Il n’y a jamais eu de sacs plastiques distribués en boutiques, les flacons vides ont été collectés dès les années 90 pour être recyclés. 15 produits existent en format éco-recharges, utilisant de 65 à 90% moins de plastique qu’une bouteille ordinaire. Déjà 84% des produits en plastique sont recyclables en boutiques. Tous ceux qui ne le sont pas, seront supprimés d’ici 5 ans.

La marque a choisi de collaborer pour ses flacons avec Loop Industries, qui utilise un processus révolutionnaire pour transformer les déchets plastiques en plastique PET de haute pureté et de qualité alimentaire.

En réduisant continuellement l’épaisseur de ses emballages, L’OCCITANE a déjà économisé 28 tonnes de plastique ! 

L’OCCITANE offre un service de recyclage dans 100% de ses boutiques en propre en France grâce à un partenariat monté il y a plusieurs années avec Terracycle®. 

Les collaborateurs du groupe sont eux aussi fortement mobilisés : ils organisent régulièrement, en France et à l’étranger, des journées de nettoyage de plages afin de contribuer également, à leur niveau, à la lutte contre la pollution des mers et océans.

Le développement d’une économie circulaire est plus que jamais au cœur des priorités et la marque poursuit continuellement ses efforts. D’ici 2020, 25 éco-recharges au total seront proposées à la vente. D’ici 2025, la marque réduira de 50% son utilisation de matières plastiques. Elle s’est engagée à assurer pour cette date un 3 x 100% : 100% des flacons en plastique sera réalisé en matière 100% recyclée et 100% des boutiques en propre offrira un service de recyclage.

Leur motivation à soutenir Plastic Odyssey Expédition

« Face à l’urgence environnementale, les entreprises ne peuvent plus se contenter de réduire leur impact, elles sont aussi une force considérable pour trouver des solutions concrètes afin de réparer les dommages causés à la nature. En étant le sponsor principal de Plastic Odyssey, L’OCCITANE EN PROVENCE soutient un projet qui vise à transformer les déchets plastiques en ressource et participer ainsi au développement d’une nouvelle économie. C’est pour cela que nous sommes fiers de nous associer à cette formidable aventure humaine et humaniste qu’est Plastic Odyssey.  »

Adrien GEIGER, Directeur International de la Marque.