loader image
logo de Plastic Odyssey blanc

Receive the Plastic Odyssey newsletter to stay up to date with the latest project news.

Plastic Odyssey supported by Clean Seas, the United Nations Environment Programme!

Despite the many arising challenges in the face of the current health crisis, we are pleased to share with you the development of the project on the international scene.

A Universal Campaign

In 2017, the United Nations Environment Programme launched the #CleanSeas (#OcéansPropres in French) campaign on social networks to engage with governments, businesses, and citizens, to stimulate their commitment in the fight against the plastic pollution that devastates our seas and oceans.

By interconnecting individuals, communities, industries, and governments, the Clean Seas campaign is a driving force for change, to transform conventional norms and practices, as well as policies around the world, to reduce marine litter and the damages it causes. To this day, over sixty countries across the globe have joined the movement, which makes Clean Seas the biggest coalition committed to ending marine plastic pollution.

A Committed Campaign

The Clean Seas campaign commits to the goals of the Global Marine Litter Partnership, a voluntary open-ended alliance for international organizations, governments, businesses, academia, local authorities, and non-governmental organizations hosted by the United Nations Environment Programme.

A Unifying Innovative Campaign

Clean Seas is one of the main partners of Flipflopi, the world’s first (dhow) sailboat made entirely from plastic waste collected in Kenya. In 2019, the sailboat traveled 500 kilometers from Lamu to Zanzibar. In early 2021, it will take over Lake Victoria, to raise awareness of the pollution affecting the region’s most critical freshwater ecosystem.

Video of Flipflopi:

A Media Collaboration

As Plastic Odyssey’s ambition appealed to the UN’s #CleanSeas, we appealed to their support and our exchanges led to a media partnership.

We look forward to sharing with you the future campaigns that will mobilize Plastic Odyssey within the United Nations Environment Programme!

Latest News

loader image
logo de Plastic Odyssey blanc
Newsletter

Recevez la newsletter de Plastic Odyssey pour rester au courant des dernières actualités du projet.

Plastic Odyssey soutenu par Clean Seas, l’ONU programme pour l’environnement !

Malgré les nombreux défis émergents face à la crise sanitaire actuelle, nous sommes très heureux.ses de vous partager le développement du projet sur la scène internationale…

Une campagne universelle

Le Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement a lancé en 2017 la campagne #CleanSeas (#OcéansPropres) sur les réseaux sociaux, afin d’interpeller les gouvernements, les entreprises et les citoyens, de stimuler leur engagement dans la lutte contre la pollution plastique qui dévaste nos mers et océans.

En reliant les individus, les communautés, les industries et les gouvernements, la campagne Clean Seas est un catalyseur de changement pour transformer les normes et pratiques conventionnelles, ainsi que les politiques dans le monde entier, afin de réduire considérablement les déchets marins et les dommages qu’ils causent. À ce jour, plus de soixante pays ont rejoint le mouvement, ce qui fait de la campagne Clean Seas la plus grande initiative au monde visant à mettre fin à la pollution plastique.

Une campagne engagée

La campagne Clean Seas contribue aux objectifs du Partenariat mondial sur les déchets marins, un partenariat volontaire à durée indéterminée pour les organisations internationales, les gouvernements, les entreprises, les universités, les autorités locales et les organisations non gouvernementales accueillies par l’ONU Environnement.

Une campagne fédératrice d’innovation

Clean Seas est l’un des principaux partenaires de Flipflopi, le premier voilier (dhow) au monde entièrement fabriqué à partir de déchets plastiques collectés au Kenya. En 2019, ce voilier a parcouru plus de 500 kilomètres de Lamu à Zanzibar. En 2021, il prendra le large sur le lac Victoria, afin de sensibiliser à la pollution qui affecte l’écosystème d’eau douce le plus critique de la région.

Le Flipflopi en vidéo :

Une collaboration médiatique

L’ambition de Plastic Odyssey ayant interpellé la campagne #CleanSeas de l’ONU, nous avons fait appel à leur soutien et nos échanges ont débouché sur un partenariat médiatique.

Nous avons donc hâte de partager avec vous les futures campagnes qui mobiliseront Plastic Odyssey au sein de l’ONU, programme pour l’environnement !

Nos derniers articles