menu

Solutions from around the world to break our dependence on plastic

Document alternatives to plastic, and make them known worldwide

The Plastic Odyssey team travels the world in search of objects, materials, and ideas to break our dependency on plastic. These discoveries are presented in a travelling exhibition on board the expedition vessel.

To put an end to the plastic waste crisis, we urgently need to reduce our plastic consumption. But how do you go about it? And what can we use to replace this material that has taken root in our daily lives, our habits and our cupboards? Plastic Odyssey set off around the world in search of alternatives. At each stopover, the expedition team shares its discoveries with local residents, and enriches the exhibition with new solutions unearthed on the spot. In addition to this traveling exhibition, the team has developed online awareness-raising tools to help spread these good ideas as widely as possible.

The Vessel’s Treasure Trunks

A travelling exhibition of alternatives to plastic from around the world

On board the Plastic Odyssey are the Treasure Trunks, in which the expedition team gathers solutions as it travels around the world. The Treasure Trunks contain objects, ideas and testimonials from all over the world to help prevent plastic from ending up in the ocean.

  • Treasure Trunks exhibition locations
  • Last updated: 20/06/2024

Deviations

Testimonials from men and women who have chosen to live away from plastic, and who tell the story of their change of direction.

Discover our video testimonials on these inspiring initiatives.

Senegal

Madame Camara’s water kiosks

Senegal

Fallou’s calabash gourds

Cape Verde

Nadira’s sisal sponges

Cape Verde

Jose’s woven and knitted objects

French Guiana

Tania’s arouman bags

Dominican Republic

Porfirio’s biodegradable containers

Dominican Republic

Michelle’s water lilac lamps

Colombia

Maribel’s kitchen utensils

Colombia

Esmeralda’s totumo objects

Next episode

Coming soon

The Fresco of solutions to plastic pollution

A deck of 56 cards to discover solutions to plastic pollution from around the world

An immersive awareness-raising tool created by the Plastic Odyssey team.

Stages

How is the plastic we use made? What happens once the plastic leaves the factory? And what happens to it once you throw it in the garbage can? 10 illustrated cards to help you understand all the stages in the life of a plastic.

Geographic zones

Where are the plastic objects we use made? Which countries use the most plastic? Where do the people who produce the most waste live? 10 maps of the world to discover the regions most affected by plastic pollution.

Consequences

How does plastic endanger the lives of animals and plants? What impact does the plastic we use every day have on our health? What are the working conditions like for plastics workers? 14 illustrated cards to help you understand the impact of plastic on nature, health, human rights and the economy…

Solutions

Can plastics be made without petroleum? What natural materials can replace plastic? What solutions exist for eliminating packaging? What regulations can be introduced? 20 illustrated cards to discover solutions that already exist around the world, and that can be replicated elsewhere.

Receive the Nomadic Expo updates

    Follow the Exhibition in live

    Carte de l'expédition de Plastic Odyssey

    The Nomadic Expo Team

    Maité

    Awareness and Education Manager

    Do you want to participate in the exhibition?

    Do you want to introduce us to an alternative to plastic or help us with the organization of the exhibition (translation, animation, location proposal, etc.)? Don’t hesitate to write to us!

    sensibilisation pollution plastique

    Education and training for exploration

    sac plastique

    Research in human sciences

    The Treasure Trunks, a travelling exhibition

    On board the Plastic Odyssey, Treasure Trunks sail: large crates in which the expedition team gathers solutions as they travel around the world. The Treasure Trunks contain objects, ideas, and testimonies from all over the world to prevent plastic from ending up in the ocean. At each stage of the expedition, the Plastic Odyssey team opens its trunks wide to show these treasures to local residents, and presents the exhibition in a cultural venue in the city.

    See the map below for exhibition locations

    Join the community,
    Subscribe to the newsletter

menu

Des solutions venues du monde entier pour sortir de notre dépendance au plastique

Documenter des alternatives au plastique, et les faire connaître partout dans le monde

L’équipe de Plastic Odyssey parcourt le monde à la recherche d’objets, de matériaux et d’idées pour sortir de notre dépendance à la matière plastique. Ces découvertes sont présentées dans une exposition itinérante, embarquée à bord du navire d’expédition.

Pour mettre fin à la crise des déchets plastiques, il devient urgent de réduire notre consommation de plastique. Mais comment s’y prendre ? Et par quoi remplacer ce matériau qui a pris racines dans notre quotidien, nos habitudes et nos placards ? Plastic Odyssey est parti autour du monde à la recherche d’alternatives. À chaque escale de l’expédition, l’équipe de l’expédition partage ses découvertes avec les habitants, et enrichit l’exposition de nouvelles solutions dénichées sur place. En parallèle de cette exposition itinérante, l’équipe propose des outils de sensibilisation accessibles en ligne pour faire connaître ces bonnes idées le plus largement possible.

Les Malles aux Trésors du navire

Une exposition itinérante qui rassemble des alternatives au plastique venues du monde entier

À bord du Plastic Odyssey, naviguent des Malles aux Trésors dans lesquelles l’équipe de l’expédition rassemble des solutions au fur et à mesure de son périple autour du monde. Les Malles aux Trésors contiennent des objets, des idées et des témoignages venus des quatre coins du monde pour empêcher le plastique de finir sa course dans l’Océan.

  • Lieux d’exposition des Malles aux Trésors
  • Dernière mise à jour : 24/05/2024

Deviations

Des témoignages d’hommes et de femmes qui ont choisi de vivre loin du plastique, et qui racontent ce changement de cap

Découvrez nos vidéos-témoignages sur ces initiatives inspirantes.

Sénégal

Les kiosques à eau de Madame Camara

Sénégal

Les récipients en calebasse de Fallou

Cap-Vert

Les éponges en sisal de Nadira

Cap-Vert

Les objets en fibres végétales de José

Guyane

Les sacs en arouman de Tania

République dominicaine

Les contenants biodégradables de Porfirio

République dominicaine

Les lampes en lilas d’eau de Michelle

Colombie

Les ustensiles de cuisine de Maribel

Colombie

Les objets en totumo d’Esmeralda

Prochain épisode

Bientôt disponible

La Fresque des solutions à la pollution plastique

Un jeu de 56 cartes pour découvrir des solutions à la pollution plastique venues du monde entier

Un outil de sensibilisation ludique et immersif créé par l’équipe de Plastic Odyssey.

Les étapes

Comment fabrique-t-on le plastique que nous utilisons ? Que se passe-t-il une fois que le plastique sort de l’usine ? Et que lui arrive-t-il une fois qu’on le jette à la poubelle ? 10 cartes illustrées pour comprendre toutes les étapes de la vie d’un plastique.

Les zones géographiques

Où fabrique-t-on les objets en plastique que nous utilisons ? Dans quels pays utilise-t-on le plus de plastique ? Où vivent les habitants qui produisent le plus de déchets ? 10 cartes du monde pour découvrir les régions les plus touchées par la pollution plastique.

Les conséquences

Comment le plastique met-il en danger la vie des animaux et des plantes ? Quel est l’impact du plastique qu’on utilise tous les jours sur notre santé ? Quelles sont les conditions de travail des travailleurs du plastique ? 14 cartes illustrées pour comprendre les conséquences qu’a le plastique sur la nature, la santé, les droits humains, l’économie…

Les solutions

Peut-on fabriquer du plastique sans pétrole ? Quels sont les matériaux naturels qui peuvent remplacer le plastique ? Quelles solutions existent pour supprimer les emballages ? Quelles réglementations peut-on mettre en place ? 20 cartes illustrées pour découvrir les solutions qui existent déjà dans le monde, et qui peuvent être répliquées ailleurs.

Recevez les actualités de la Nomadic Expo

    Suivez l’exposition des solutions en live

    Carte de l'expédition de Plastic Odyssey

    L’équipe de la Nomadic Expo

    Maité

    Responsable sensibilisation

    Vous souhaitez participer à l’exposition ?

    Vous souhaitez nous faire découvrir une alternative au plastique ou vous souhaitez nous aider dans l’organisation de l’exposition (traduction, animation, proposition de lieu, etc.) ? N’hésitez pas à nous écrire !

    sensibilisation pollution plastique

    Éducation et formation à l’exploration

    sac plastique

    Recherche en sciences humaines

    Les Malles Aux Trésors, une exposition itinérante

    À bord du Plastic Odyssey, naviguent des malles aux trésors : de grandes caisses dans lesquelles l’équipe de l’expédition rassemble des solutions au fur et à mesure de son périple autour du monde. Les Malles aux Trésors contiennent des objets, des idées, des témoignages venus des quatre coins du monde pour empêcher le plastique de finir sa course dans l’Océan. À chaque étape de l’expédition, l’équipe du Plastic Odyssey ouvre grand ses malles pour faire découvrir ces trésors aux habitants, et présente l’exposition dans un lieu culturel de la ville.

    Découvrez sur la carte ci-dessous les lieux d’exposition

    Rejoignez la communauté,
    Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter